Sports Sig

Three Nebraska football players are among 76 finalists announced by the Football Bowl Subdivision on Monday, June 2 for the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

According to Nebraska Athletics Communication Director Shamus McKnight, the 2020 ballot for induction includes Heisman-winning quarterback Eric Crouch, offensive lineman Zach Wiegert and defensive lineman Larry Jacobson –– two Outland Trophy winners.

Crouch is on the ballot for the ninth consecutive year. The 2020 ballot will be Wiegert’s fifth appearance and Jacobson’s second appearance. The 2020 class will be announced before the 2020 College Football Playoff Championship in New Orleans.

If inducted, Crouch would become the second quarterback in the College Hall of Fame from Nebraska, along with Tommie Frazier, who was inducted in 2013.

Crouch is Nebraska's third Heisman Trophy winner, after leading the Huskers to the National Championship game in 2001. He set an NCAA record for career rushing touchdowns by a quarterback with 59 touchdowns. Crouch amassed 7,915 yards of total offense in his career. Crouch was named a consensus All-American in 2001, and has also been awarded the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, the Davey O'Brien Award and the Sporting News Offensive Player of the Year award.

Jacobson played on both of Nebraska’s first national title teams in 1970 and 1971. A consensus first-team All-American in 1971, Jacobson won the Outland Trophy as a senior, with 73 tackles including 12 tackles for loss to become the program’s first major award winner.

He led the Blackshirts to top-five national rankings in rush defense (85.9, second), total defense (202.9, fifth) and scoring defense (8.2, third) en route to a 13-0 record and a second-straight national title. During his three seasons at Nebraska, he led the Huskers to a 33-2-1 mark with two national titles and three conference crowns.

Wiegert was a 1994 unanimous first-team All-American He helped lead the Huskers to 1994 National Championship. WIegert led the Huskers with 113 pancake blocks. Weigert was a finalist for the Lombardi Award, a consensus All-American, the UPI Lineman of the Year and the Touchdown Club of Columbus Offensive Lineman of the Year.

There are currently 18 Husker football players and six football coaches in the College Hall of Fame.